E-Sessions

I moved house  just over two weeks ago and never is the history of moving has there been a bigger whiner than me.  I love our new home but I have decided that the act of moving is one of the worst things that can happen to me.  Deciding to move and doing it all in the space of 2 weeks may have been what tipped me over the edge, but I am spontaneous like that.  In light of my moving horror, “Marry Me”? week didn’t quite turn out as planned.  I still have some posts that were queued to go, so today’s post is focused on engagement shoots.
A few weeks ago I did a photography profile on Jacki Bruniquel and during the interview Jacki touched on engagement shoots and their benefits, which inspired me to take a closer look…
I am sure I have mentioned before that I tend to avoid being in front of the camera.  This is just one of the reasons that we opted not to have an engagement shoot done.  As it turns out, we ended up having so much fun doing our creative shoot that I kinda wish we had done an e-session .  I probably would have felt less nervous too.  I haven’t broken the news to Gavin yet but I think we should have a photo shoot done for our 1-year anniversary.  Do you think that counts as a gift of paper?

The sky is the limit when it comes to engagement shoots.  Unlike your wedding shoot, you don’t have to worry about you hair, make-up or clothing so play in the rain if you can time it correctly.
Themed shoots always look like so much fun!  Raid your grandparents wardrobes or head on over to your local costume hire shop and get into character.
If vamping it up isn’t for you then consider recreating your first meeting, first date or how you got engaged.  Choosing a location that has special meaning to you will make your photos all the more special.

Consider your e-session as a super fun trial run.  We all have our body image issues (even the guys) and having a pre-shoot done is a great way to let your photographer know which angles you are not fond of.  At the end of the day, the pros of having one done certainly outweigh the cons, so speak to your wedding photographers about it.  They will probably be more than happy to do one as it will allow them to be able to get to know you better and ultimately deliver a final result that you are thrilled with.

Credits:  Simply Bloom Photography, Emma Case Photography, Daniel Kiyoi, David Wittig, Our Labor of Love

This entry was posted in Engagements and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

